How Much Does It Cost To File For Divorce In Kansas

How Much Does It Cost To File For Divorce In Kansas

Filing for a divorce in Kansas involves a number of different costs. Generally speaking, the attorney’s fees will be the largest cost involved, and this cost will vary depending on a few factors such as whether minor children are involved, whether retirement accounts or other assets are involved, and whether the parties are in agreement on the parameters of the divorce.

Attorney’s Fees When Minor Children Are Involved

When children are involved, most attorneys will start with a retainer fee in the range of $1,500 to $2,500. Following this, they will bill you by the hour, and your final cost will often be in the neighborhood of $3,000 to $4,000.

This figure is assuming that the parties are in agreement. A litigated divorce involving children can easily exceed $5,000.

Attorney’s Fees Without Minor Children

When there are no children involved, most attorneys will require a retainer fee of around $1,500. By the time the divorce is completed, you can usually expect to pay somewhere in the range of $2,000 to $2,500. This figure is assuming that the parties can agree on the terms, as a litigated divorce will always cost significantly more.

Fees Involving Retirement Accounts

If your divorce involves a 401(k) account, a pension account, or some other similar retirement savings account, most attorneys will charge between $1,500 and $2,500 extra to split the account. The exact cost will depend on the complexity of the account and a given lawyer’s hourly rate.

Save On Your Divorce Working With RJW Law

If you want a divorce but you cannot afford to pay the above rates, contact me for a quote. My pricing will vary depending on a few factors, but I can tell you that my rates tend to be under half of what most other lawyers charge for a similar divorce. I look forward to hearing from you!

Similar Posts